Annex A. Country groupings

Developed and developing countries

For the purpose of this report's analysis and figures, the following classifications are used:

- "Developing countries", which refer to countries and territories included on the DAC List of ODA Recipients for 2018 development finance and/or on the non-Annex I list of Parties to the UNFCCC.
- "Developed countries", which include Annex II Parties to the Convention, the Member States of the European Union, Liechtenstein, and Monaco.

Countries and territories that do not fall in these categories (most notably the Russian Federation (Russia) are not covered by the analysis.

Table A.1. Developing countries: Non-Annex I Parties on the DAC List of ODA Recipients

Afghanistan	Dominica	Liberia	Saint Lucia
Albania	Dominican Republic	Libya	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Algeria	Ecuador	Madagascar	Samoa
Angola	Egypt	Malawi	Sao Tome and Principe
Antigua and Barbuda	El Salvador	Malaysia	Senegal
Argentina	Equatorial Guinea	Maldives	Serbia
Armenia	Eritrea	Mali	Sierra Leone
Azerbaijan	Eswatini	Marshall Islands	Solomon Islands
Bangladesh	Ethiopia	Mauritania	Somalia
Belize	Fiji	Mauritius	South Africa
Benin	Gabon	Mexico	South Sudan
Bhutan	Gambia	Micronesia	Sri Lanka
Bolivia	Georgia	Moldova	Sudan
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Ghana	Mongolia	Suriname
Botswana	Grenada	Montenegro	Syrian Arab Republic
Brazil	Guatemala	Morocco	Tajikistan
Burkina Faso	Guinea	Mozambique	Tanzania
Burundi	Guinea-Bissau	Myanmar	Thailand
Cabo Verde	Guyana	Namibia	Timor-Leste
Cambodia	Haiti	Nauru	Togo
Cameroon	Honduras	Nepal	Tonga
Central African Republic	India	Nicaragua	Tunisia
Chad	Indonesia	Niger	Turkmenistan
China (People's Republic of)	Iran	Nigeria	Tuvalu
Colombia	Iraq	Niue	Uganda
Comoros	Jamaica	North Macedonia	Uzbekistan
Congo	Jordan	Pakistan	Vanuatu
Cook Islands	Kazakhstan	Palau	Venezuela
Costa Rica	Kenya	Panama	Viet Nam
Côte d'Ivoire	Kiribati	Papua New Guinea	West Bank and Gaza Strip
Cuba	Kyrgyzstan	Paraguay	Yemen

Korea	Lao People's Democratic Republic	Peru	Zambia
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Lebanon	Philippines	Zimbabwe
Djibouti	Lesotho	Rwanda	

Table A.2. Developing countries: Non-Annex I Parties beyond ODA Recipients

Andorra	Chile	Korea	Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bahamas	Israel	San Marino	Trinidad and Tobago
Bahrain	Kuwait	Saudi Arabia	United Arab Emirates
Barbados	Oman	Seychelles	Uruguay
Brunei Darussalam	Qatar	Singapore	

Table A.3. Developing countries: ODA Recipients beyond the Non-Annex I Parties

Belarus	Montserrat	Republic of Türkiye	Ukraine
Kosovo	Saint Helena	Tokelau	Wallis and Futuna

Table A.4. Developed countries

Australia	European Union	Latvia	Portugal
Austria	Finland	Liechtenstein	Romania
Belgium	France	Lithuania	Slovak Republic
Bulgaria	Germany	Luxembourg	Slovenia
Canada	Greece	Malta	Spain
Croatia	Hungary	Monaco	Sweden
Cyprus (see "Notes")	Iceland	Netherlands	Switzerland
Czech Republic	Ireland	New Zealand	United Kingdom
Denmark	Italy	Norway	United States
Estonia	Japan	Poland	

Note by the Republic of Türkiye: The information in this document with reference to "Cyprus" relates to the southern part of the Island. There is no single authority representing both Turkish and Greek Cypriot people on the Island. The Republic of Türkiye recognises the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC). Until a lasting and equitable solution is found within the context of the United Nations, the Republic of Türkiye shall preserve its position concerning the "Cyprus issue".

Note by all the European Union Member States of the OECD and the European Union: The Republic of Cyprus is recognised by all members of the United Nations with the exception of the Republic of Türkiye. The information in this document relates to the area under the effective control of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus.

Regions and sub-regions

The classifications used in this report are inspired by the M49 standard of the United Nations to the extent possible, as well as the DAC regional groupings. Climate finance that is not allocable by region is grouped under "unspecified".

The divergences from the UN M49 standard in this report are that:

- Central Asia includes all post-soviet countries in Asia, except Russia, namely Armenia, Azerbaijan,
 Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.
- Western Asia is replaced with the Middle East, whereas relevant post-soviet countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia) are included in Central Asia (see above).
- Sudan is included in Eastern Africa, rather than North Africa.

The main reason for these divergences is to ensure consistency with the DAC classification, which is used in the context of the underlying data on multilateral public and private finance mobilised. Moreover, "developed countries" are excluded from the individual regions.

Table A.5. List of developing countries and territories by region and sub-region

Region	Country
Africa	Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Asia	Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Türkiye, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, West Bank and Gaza Strip, Yemen
Europe	Albania, Andorra, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, San Marino, Serbia, Ukraine
Americas	Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
Oceania	Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna



From:

Scaling Up the Mobilisation of Private Finance for Climate Action in Developing Countries

Challenges and Opportunities for International Providers

Access the complete publication at:

https://doi.org/10.1787/17a88681-en

Please cite this chapter as:

OECD (2023), "Country groupings", in Scaling Up the Mobilisation of Private Finance for Climate Action in Developing Countries: Challenges and Opportunities for International Providers, OECD Publishing, Paris.

DOI: https://doi.org/10.1787/19b163c8-en

This document, as well as any data and map included herein, are without prejudice to the status of or sovereignty over any territory, to the delimitation of international frontiers and boundaries and to the name of any territory, city or area. Extracts from publications may be subject to additional disclaimers, which are set out in the complete version of the publication, available at the link provided.

The use of this work, whether digital or print, is governed by the Terms and Conditions to be found at http://www.oecd.org/termsandconditions.

